Maxine Rippe Award


The Maxine Rippe Award is one of four monetary awards given to individuals through the Raymond Rosenberger Award Foundation. A longtime member of St. Peter’s Catholic Church and Kunkle Valve employee, Mr. Rosenberger lived frugally and invested nearly all of his income. At his passing, his estate established a foundation that funds four individual service awards, each granted by a different local northeastern Indiana organization.

The Rosenberger Award Foundation funds The Lutheran Foundation’s Maxine Rippe Award, as well as annual awards given by Parkview Hospital, St. Joseph Community Health Foundation, and the United Way of Allen County. Each of the four awards recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding community service on behalf of a local charitable organization. 

Selection Criteria

The Maxine Rippe Award recognizes an individual whose past and present service to the Allen County community exemplifies Christian compassion. In keeping with the goals of the Rosenberger Award Foundation, the annual award typically exceeds $10,000 and is a reward to encourage lifelong community involvement.

Qualified Maxine Rippe Award nominees have demonstrated exceptional service – either as a volunteer or as an employee – to any local Allen County charitable organization that alleviates human suffering, promotes wellness, or enhances quality of life for those suffering from illness or injury. The recognized recipient is selected from the submitted nominees to receive the cash award. Qualified nominees:

  • Have performed diligent and faithful service on behalf of a tax-exempt, charitable, Allen County organization that works to alleviate human suffering, enhance the quality of life of persons afflicted with illness or injury, or promote wellness through the prevention of illness, disease or injury.
  • Display extraordinary devotion to furthering the organization’s objectives.
  • Have encouraged others to serve the organization and further its objectives.
  • Have served or currently serves the organization either as an employee or a volunteer.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 - Cheryl Brockman
  • 2017 – Elvis Netterville
  • 2016 – Martha Weber
  • 2015 – Bernice Ostermeyer
  • 2014 – Dr. Saneta Maiko
  • 2013 – Pat Patton
  • 2012 – Margarete Matiszik
  • 2011 – Roger and Carrie Macke
  • 2010 – Vivian Purvis
  • 2009 – Martin “Bud” Scheimann
  • 2008 – Roland and Marian Masenthin
  • 2007 – The Reverend Vernon Graham
  • 2006 – Thelma Heine
  • 2005 – Robert and Ramona Scheimann
  • 2004 – William and Betterae Ihssen
  • 2003 – Richard and Doris Hagen
  • 2002 – Earl and Irma Dressler
  • 2001 – Merle Altstiel
  • 2000 – Norma Hartman
  • 1999 – Annette Diemer

Making a Nomination

Nominations must not come from a nominee’s immediate family. PNC Bank employees or their spouses are not eligible for the award.

The Maxine Rippe Award is based on past and present achievements, and is not meant to reflect future service. Once the award is granted, no restrictions or conditions are placed upon the use of the monetary award.

To nominate an individual, please complete our online nomination form and describe why he or she deserves a nomination. Your statement should clearly indicate the specific services your nominee has performed, and how those services have furthered the goals of a particular charitable organization.

Nomination deadline is February 28th at noon.

For questions, contact Terri Kortokrax at 260.458.2112 or